Tinto PS banner

 Home     About Us     School Culture    For Parents     For Children     Calendar        ASC

Tinto PS clear logo1

Quick Links

New Build



Contact us

School Handbook

Adverse Weather Arrangements

Curriculum For Excellence


  • School Ethos

      Our Ethos can be summed up in the motto






    Or culture is set by the school community with the following aims :

    • To create an environment where effective teaching and learning can take place to develop in pupils a sense of self discipline and an understanding of responsibility for their own actions.
    • To engender a mutual respect for each other.
    • To standardise procedures for implementation of a positive discipline for learning policy from Nursery to P7.
    • To recognise and reward achievements and good behaviour.

    In Tinto Primary School we expect staff and pupils to work together to create a climate of mutual respect and co-operation and an ethos which encourages achievement. The Discipline for Learning policy will be the foundation on which this is based. The aims will be reinforced through a whole school approach, classroom management and appropriate teaching and learning strategies.

    Click on the following link to view our Values, Aims and Mission Statement

    We encourage constructive competition through the establishment of School Houses.  Each House has a boys’ and a girls’ House Captain.  Candidates for House Captain are drawn from Primary 7 and are elected by all pupils of the school.

    House captains for 2018-19 are:

       Clyde: Finn McCail & Sam Mitchell

      Forth: Laura Lyon & Madaline Forgie

      Tay: Ellie Garrett & Alex Cathcart

    We are also are proud to be part of the Junior Road Safety Officers (JRSO) Scheme.  The nationwide scheme exists to encourage road safety education in primary schools through the appointment of JRSOs..

    The JRSO’s for 2018-19 are: Jay Adamson, Finlay Baillie, Nico Foster & Lily Ramage

    The JRSO scheme website is at www.jrso.com


    Officer Roles for 2018-19 are:

    Walls of Fame: Amelie Minnie, Cameron Borthwick, Eve Storie & Molly Mitchell

    Fund Raisers: Neve Leslie, Liam Gold, Murray Taylor

    Peer Mentors: Fergus Conn, Poppy Ramage


  • Learning
  • Policies

Tel: 01899 308279      Email: gw14tintopsoffice@glow.sch.uk